Thomas Labé

Recording Artist

The world of music appreciation textbooks is
about to be turned upside down!

The Ninth Muse:
Of Gods, Mortals and Music
in Western Civilization

A comprehensive continuously updated music
 appreciation textbook with an integrated responsive
website, online multimedia pronouncing lexicon
and an IMS Common Cartridge
by Thomas Labé.

Look Inside!

A Fresh And Unique New Approach To Music Appreciation

Rather than the traditional traversal of the "elements" of music, followed by lip service given to Antiquity and the Middle Ages, The Ninth Muse follows the thread of music from the Pleistocene Era to the present. Using a unique format it only introduces concepts, terms, instruments, and so on as they become relevant to the narrative. The emphasis is placed on listening (suggested listening examples are placed throughout the text) allowing instructors the utmost flexibility in providing students with a rich and varied listening experience. The textbook and website are illuminated with over 1,500 high definition color images and generous quotations from literature ranging from Plato to Kurt Vonnegut.


• a lively, fresh approach to the topic                
• over 1,500 high definition full color images that service to illuminate the text                          • a chronological approach from the Pleistocene Era to the present the book only introduces terms, names and concepts as they become relevant to the narrative                


• a fully functional responsive website suitable for class presentation and available for instructor and student use 24/7/365
• the website aligns with the textbook, Lexicon and Blackboard cartridge


- this multimedia "dictionary" contains 1,000+ terms, composer names, and so with pronunciation and supporting multimedia materials
- it is fully integrated with the textbook
- imusical examples recorded in demonstration quality on a Steinway concert grand piano


• all materials are available online (and portion of the textbook and the study guides can be printed
• a free downloadable APP allows for quick connections to any of the online elements


• a common course cartridge compatible with a wide variety of learning management systems containing examination pools for instructors and study materials for students


• this textbook and all associated materials will be made available on a unique subscription basis to institutions and individuals alike
• all materials will be continuously updated so there will never be a new edition


Puccini/Labé.: Grand Fantasy on Themes from La Bohème

Surprisingly the first large scale treatment of Puccini's music to be brought to the piano.

Debussy: Clair de lune

From the Suite bergamasque (pub. 1905)

Liszt: Les jeux d'eaux à la Villa dEste

From the Années de pèlerinage, Troisième année, S. 163 (pub. 1858)

Howard Hanson: Impromptu

The first of the Two Yuletide Pieces, Op. 19

Franc/Bauer: Organ Prelude, Fugue and Variation, Op. 18 (Video Part II)
J. S. Bach/Busoni: Fron the Partita No. 2 in D Minor for Solo Violin, BWV 1004, V: Chaconne

From a world premiere first recording of some of the arrangements for solo piano by Leopold Godowsky (1870-1938) of selected works from Bachs solo violin and cello sonatas and partitas.

Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2, S. 244 (original cadenza by Thomas Labé)
Hanson: For the First Time (the solo piano version of the orchestral work made by the composer)
J. S. Bach/Godowvky; From the Sonata No. 3 in A Minor for Solo Violin, BWV 1003, III: Aria

The last track from Transcendental Bach which has been featured on Performance Today


Phone: +1 405 430 1436

© Copyright MMXXII Thomas Labé. All rights reserved.